O-O-Oh My Aching Foot

I love to run or I guess I should I say, “run/jog/walk.”   I began running for fun and fitness in 1984 and ran my first race in 1987.   These are road races I’m talking about.  I’ve run two half marathons and I’m about to run a third one in November.  I’ve run about five 15K races and many 10k, 8k, and 5k runs.

 On September 23, 2006, I ran track for the first time.  I ended up taking the gold in both the 100 meter and 400 meter.   Now I’m on my way to the National Senior Olympics in July 2007.  Not bad for a first time track runner.

 On that day at the track, I ended up with plantar fascitis.  The stance is different than when running a road race.  Anyway, I ripped, tore or stretched my right foot in a way that caused me tremendous pain.  Here we are almost a month later and I’m still having trouble stepping down on my foot.

 I’ve tried many ways to alleviate the pain and they help for a little while and the foot begins to feel better.  Then I go for a run and I’m back to square one.  I realize that rest is the best treatment for the foot to heal, but I have to run at least 3 times a week.  I can’t help it.  It’s in my blood.

I’ve tried many things to relieve the pain, including rolling around a frozen bottle of water with my foot, taking tylenol, rubbing Aspercream on my heel, Biofreeze, hydrocortisone cream for it’s anti-inflammatory effects, heel inserts for my shoes, tape, and elevating my foot whenever I sit.  I’m tempted to see a physician for an injection in the foot, but I really don’t want to go that route.

I have that half-marathon coming up in November and I need to get this problem corrected.

One thought on “O-O-Oh My Aching Foot

Leave a Reply

