Introduction

At the age of 35, I took up running and three years later ran my first 5K race. In 1987 I ran and won third place in the Indian Pow Wow Run at Mohawk Park.  Since that time I’ve placed 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in my age group in many races.

Running is a regular part of my everyday life.  My boss asked, “Why do you pound your body like that?” I told him, “Because it makes me feel good and it makes me feel strong.”

“It is my goal to express my determination, perseverance, and competitiveness by always trying to do my best.  I don’t want to just ‘finish the race,’ I want to reach higher and higher, and faster and faster every time my feet hit the pavement.”

I have three runs on my calendar–the 15K Tulsa Run on November 11, 2006, the Tulsa Route 66 Half-Marathon on November 19, 2006, and the 100 and 400 Meter Track at the National Senior Olympics in Louisville, Kentucky June 30-July 4, 2007.   I’ll also be competing in the long jump and high jump at the Senior Olympics.

 You can sign up online for the 15K Tulsa Run at www.tulsarun.com or for the Route 66 Marathon at www.route66marathon.com.

Leave a Reply

