Three Mile Neighborhood Run

I ran the usual “Tuesday 3” today.  The weather is beautiful–a sunny 68 degrees.  But I can’t really say that I ran the three miles.  My heel is still giving me pain.  It’s not as bad as it was but it can still get intense.  On a scale of 1-10, it was previously about a 9.  Now it is about a 6, so there’s been some improvement.  I learned something about the situation today.  When I started todays run I had no pain but it raised it’s ugly head after only about a block.  It turned out to be more like a powerwalk.

 So for the first 2 miles I powerwalked with a slight limp, babying the foot.  It was almost like a tip-toe. Somewhere during the last mile, I decided I would go ahead and step on the foot in a normal fashion without babying the foot and pressing through the pain.  Guess what?  It turns out that stepping down on the foot entirely was the better way to go. 

There’s a new bridge in our neighborhood crossing a small man-made creek.  It was a nice surprise to discover it.  That had been my usual running route for close to eight years.  About 6 months ago, my running routine had to be rerouted due to the fact that the road was closed because the bridge washed out.  I’ve gone that way several times to check on it and even a month ago, it was still closed. 

I’ll be returning to my old route for my “Tuesday 3” to run on familiar ground.  Familiar ground feels good.

Leave a Reply

