Count Down to the Route 66 Half Marathon

Only three weeks until the Route 66 Marathon and Half-Marathon. 

 According to my training plan I should have run 9 miles yesterday, but I got side tracked and only ran 7.6 miles.  There’s a newly remodeled park with a pond, fountains, a stream, and recreation facility.  I was amazed at what a great job they did with the park that I allowed my training run to be disrupted just so I could explore the park and the facility. 

Back to the task at hand–training to run a half-marathon.  I haven’t been following Hal Higdon’s plan, however, I incorporated his advice of running a 5k, 10k, and a 15k race as part of the training into my own training plan. 

  • September 9, 2006   –  5K run
  • September 23, 2006 –  5K road race
  • October  07,  2006  –  10K race
  • November 11, 2006 – 15K race

Of course I haven’t run the 15K yet.  It’s still two weeks away and the Route 66 Half-Marathon is the following week.

 I’ve only strayed a little bit from my training plan, but now it’s time to stick to the plan 100%.

It is in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped. a quote by Tony Robbins.

It’s my decision to stick to my half-marathon training plan 100% until the day of the race–November 18, 2006.

You can sign up for the Route 66 Marathon or Half-Marathon at www.route66marathon.com

Leave a Reply

