My Second Half-Marathon — P. F. Chang’s Rock ‘n Roll Phoenix Marathon

Our time in Phoenix was somewhat of a family reunion.   My sister lives in Perris, California which is only about a four hour drive from Phoenix.   I talked her into running the half-marathon with us.   Pete’s uncle and his wife live just south of Phoenix and we talked them into meeting us and being our guests at the pasta party.  

Every time I would see an orange tree loaded with oranges, Phoenix would remind me of my childhood in California.  I played in the orange groves as a child.  Phoenix is a beautiful city with a lot of interestingly shaped cacti, orange trees, palm trees, and georgeous sunsets.  It is known as the “Valley of the Sun.”

The half-marathon course was fast and flat which made for easy running.   The inaugural marathon and half-marathon had 29,282 registrants and 23,808 finishers.  The top male and female marathon finishers each received $20,000.

I improved my racing time by 30 minutes and  Pete improved his running time by 8 minutes.  We were both happy with our results.

Leave a Reply

