6 Days Until the Route 66 Marathon

Well, I ran the Tulsa Run 15K as part of my training for the half-marathon coming up Sunday November 19, 2006.   I didn’t set any PR’s, although I ran it faster than 2004.  It’s the fifth time I ran the Tulsa Run 15K and my PR for that race is 1:46:47.

My training for today included only a 2.2 mile easy run and forty minutes of Iron Yoga.  I’m trying to take it easy by just running 2.2 miles, but my body was screaming for more.  So when I got home from my easy run, I did the Iron Yoga.  It made me feel good.  I like the Iron Yoga because it combines a light weight workout with stretching and yoga.  It’s supposed to be a sixty minute workout, but I cut it short at forty minutes.

I plan on giving my body three days of rest before running the half-marathon, but for now I’m in the taper mode.  Only six days left until the big day–the Inaugural Tulsa World Route 66 Marathon and Half-Marathon. 

Leave a Reply

