Tomorrow’s the Big Day – Route 66 Marathon

We went to the pasta dinner this evening – me and Katie.  There were six of us at our table.  We met some really nice people.  The couple on my right were Vickie and Jim from Arkansas.  Vickie isn’t running because she’s still recuperating from her last marathon.  Her husband, Jim, is running and expects to qualify for the Boston Marathon.

Sitting next to Katie was a gentleman named Kevin from Colorado.  Across from me was Tom from Toronto.  I can’t remember what country he said his wife is from but I do know she’s oriental.  He may have said Korea but I’m not sure.  Anyway, she is in her home country visiting family.  He said he used to run when he was younger but has lived an unhealthy life for a number of years.  Last year he was having chest pain and ended up having coronary by-pass surgery.  During his recovery, he had to go to rehab and began running on the treadmill.  He said after a while it got boring and he decided to start running outside and of course he began running longer and faster until he took up the sport of running again. 

The speaker of the evening was Sam Thompson.  He ran 51 marathons in 50 states in 50 days to “raise awareness of the devastation that still remains along the Mississippi Gulf Coast left in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.”  His website is www.50in50in50.com.

Actually, I had never heard of Sam Thompson.  When I think of 50 in 50 in 50, I think of Dean Karnazes the ultra-marathon man, Endurance 50, and North Face.

All-in-all, it was an enjoyable evening.  The pasta party was held at the Crown Plaza Hotel on the second floor.  As we exited the building, fireworks were going off in celebretion of the Oklahoma Centennia.

Tomorrow’s the big day – I’m looking forward to it.  I love the excitement and I love to run. 

add_yahoo.gif

Leave a Reply

