Training Runs and Inclement Weather

It started November 30, 2006.  The weather had been nice in Tulsa all season until the sleet and ice storms hit.  My personal training was going great too.

  • Nov 24 – 3.2 miles
  • Nov 25 – 1.8 miles
  • Nov 26 – 4 miles
  • Nov 27 – 4 miles
  • Nov 28 – Rest Day
  • Nov 29 – 4 miles
  • Nov 30 – Sleet and ice

According to the local newspaper, the Tulsa World, parts of northeastern Oklahoma got 15 inches of snow, there was a record setting, single digit low temperature for Saturday Dec 2, and Dec 1 was the lowest it’s been in Tulsa on that day since 1985.  

That sure put a damper on my training.

 On December 3, I thought I would go for a walk in the neighborhood, but I was in for a surprise.  Under the 10 inches of snow was 2 inches of ice.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to run, but found out I really couldn’t walk either.  It was just too slick and dangerous.  I managed to carefully walk a cuple blocks–no more than about a ten minute walk.

snow12_02_2006l2_low.jpg, Tulsa Snow As I was walking, I was startled by a thunderous crashing noise.  One gentleman who was shoveling snow in his yard asked me if that was a tree that came tumbling down.  Actually it was not.  It was an aluminum carport.  Luckily there were no cars under it.  There were two cars parked at that residence, but neither one of them were under the carport. (see photo)

Since the snow and ice had begun to melt, I fugured I’d attempt to take a walk on December 4th. The roads were still as slick and slippery as the day before.  Again, I only managed about a 10 minute walk. 

It’s really getting next to me  that I haven’t been able to get out and run.  When I got back from my walk, I did some cross-training–20 minutes of stretching and 40 minutes of weightlifting / body sculpting.

On Tuesday December 5th, conditions in the neighborhoods were improving only slightly–still too dangerous to run.  I did, however, manage to increase my walking time to 30 minutes.  It was still slow, but not quite the snail’s pace of the previous two days.  The major roads were finally snow-plowed, salted, and sanded.

This coming Saturday, me, my friend Katie, and my 14 year old granddaughter will be running a 5K race–The Jingle Bell Run.  I’m ready for it.  I need to get out of the house and “on the road again.”

add_yahoo.gif

2 thoughts on “Training Runs and Inclement Weather

Leave a Reply

