Self-Talk While Running

Self Talk and Positive Affirmations While Running a Half-Marathon

 When I ran my first half-marathon in 2003, it was a struggle to make it to the finish line.  After all, it had been over 10 years since I ran any kind of race at all and I was 25 pounds heavier.  But I was determined that I would finish the race and I would not be the last finisher.

The thing that got me to the finish line despite the intense heat and my weight, was positive reinforcement through self-talk.

As in the children’s story entitled The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper, I repeated to myself over and over, “I think I can, I think I can.” 

Then I continued in my own self talk mode–“I know I can. I know I can. I know I can finish this race.  I’m going to make it to the finish line.  Nothing can stop me now. I know I can do it!  I know I can.”

Then I modified a scripture–Phil 4:13.  “I can do all things because Christ gives me strength.  I have the strength to finish this race.  I can do it.  I can do all things.  I am going to finish this race and i won’t be last.  I know I can do it.  I can do all things.  I know I can!  I know I can!”

So the two inspirations for my first half-marathon were “The Little Engine That Could,” and Philippians 4:13.

 BTW:  I finished the race and I wasn’t last!

add_yahoo.gif

2 thoughts on “Self-Talk While Running

  1. Those last three miles – legs are numb, you wonder if your heart is still even beating, you care about nothing less than seeing the finish line. It really all comes down to the ability of your psyche!

  2. You are absolutely right! When I reached mile 11 I hit the wall and really had to convince myself to go on. It definitely became a mind thing at that point. It’s amazing though, how each race becomes easier and easier. I never hit that wall during half-marathon numbers 2 and 3.

Leave a Reply

