Impact on My Running

GIVING CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE Continued

The third person who has had an impact on my running is someone who I’ll call subject #000 because of privacy protection and patient confidentiality.

Anyway,  while I trained for half-marathon #1, my training rountine consisted of two short runs and one long run each week.  The short runs were always three miles.  The long runs were anywhere from 6 to 15 miles and increased each week.

For half-marathon #2 and #3, I continued with the same routine of two short runs and one long run, but added cross training which was either weightlifting or bicycling.

I’ll be running half-marathon #4 sometime this spring and my training routine is changing due to some pointers received from Matt and from Subject #000.

Subject #000 ran track in college and now his son runs track.  He suggested running at least 5 times and preferably 6 times each week instead of the three I was running previously.  He also suggests running split runs–two short runs each day and gradually increase the distance.  For instance, run two miles in the morning and two miles in the afternoon.  After about a week or two increase that to three miles in the morning and three miles in the evening.  Then four, then five, increasing until I reach my goal. You don’t have increase your distance by a full mile.  You can increase by half mile increments if you want–whatever works for you.

He also says that cross training doesn’t have to be on non-run days.  He says to do the cross-training of my choice two or three times each week on running days. 

Subject #000 recommends:
     Running 6 days each week
     Split Runs
     Cross train on running days

Matt recommends:
     Fartleks
     Increase VO2 Max
     Swimming for cross-training

Sarg says:
     “It’s all in the hips.”

I say:
     “Widen your stride.”

 For 2007, I’ll be adding Fartleks and Split Runs.  I will also be running 6 days a week.  Once I get my training calendar updated with my new days, times, and routines, I’ll post it.

Oh! And by the way, I’ll be moving my hips more.

One thought on “Impact on My Running

Leave a Reply

