People Running Into Things

I was reading on the Red Fork Hippie Chick’s blog that she just had an incident where she ran into a wall while riding her bike. smile.gif

 I’ve also been running into things.

On December 31, 2006 I ran head-on into the New Year. smile.gif

On New Year’s Eve, there was a 5K race at the river called, “Race into the New Year.”  We left the starting line at 11:45 pm and we literally ran into the new year.  Excitement filled the air, noise makers were given out at the finish line, and black eyed peas and corn bread were served as well as champagne, hot chocolate, and hot apple cider. 

Growing up in California, I had never heard of the tradition of eating black eyed peas on New Year’s Day for good luck and prosperity.   I never heard of it until I moved to Oklahoma. 

blackeyedpeas.jpg I read somewhere on the internet (can’t remember where), that if the black eyed peas are served with greens, the peas stand for coins and the greens stand for dollar bills.  I have never incorporated the tradition into my own life.  I’ve been here for twenty years and have never eaten the black eyed peas on New Year’s Day.  So after making a lot of noise and socializing with my friends and other people at the race, I thought, “Why not? I’ll taste them just to say I did.”

It was just like Old Mother Hubbard–when she got there, the cupboard was bare.  I walked over to the table and lifted the lid of the pot to find that it was completely dry.  Oh well!  I didn’t need to eat them anyway. 

3 thoughts on “People Running Into Things

  1. Fortunately, The Wall wasn’t made of concrete — just exhaustion and some less-than-stellar nutritional choices. *LOL*

    I always assumed that if the blackeyed peas were served with greens, it meant I was going to get sweet potato pie for dessert, because I was obviously having dinner with a Southerner. 😉

    The best way to eat blackeyed peas on New Year’s Day is to fix yourself a batch of Texas caviar and scoop ’em up with tortilla chips.

  2. Anyone who runs or bikes knows what the wall represents and it’s no fun. I’ve heard that marathoners usually hit it somewhere around mile 21or 22, although, I hit the wall during my first half-marathon in Kona at mile 11. Guess I hadn’t trained hard enough.

    I entitled this post as “People Running into Things” as a way to get others to read it–as a form of attraction like a magnet.

    The black-eyed pea tradition is definitely a Southern thing.

    Tell this displaced California girl about Texas caviar. I can only imagine that it is probably ground beef.

  3. I read your post again and saw the smiley at the end of the sentence. First time I saw it was on some kind of incoming link notice from WordPress, which left out a big chunk of it. Dur….

    Mental and spiritual training knock down The Wall. If you’ve trained adequately in those areas, you won’t even have a wall to knock down. That’s because it is 10 percent glycogen depletion, 10 percent physical exhaustion, 40 percent doubt, and 40 percent fear. Top off your spiritual and mental reserve tanks before you start, and it really doesn’t make any difference what you ate or how many training miles you logged. Or, at least, that’s been my experience.

    Texas Caviar

    Can of blackeyed peas, drained
    Bell pepper, chopped finely
    Half a small red onion, chopped finely
    Jalapeno pepper, chopped finely
    1/4 c. Italian dressing (I usually use Newman’s Own olive oil and vinegar dressing)
    Cumin to taste
    Chili powder to taste
    A few good shakes of seasoned salt

    Mix everything together and put in the refrigerator until it’s good and cold. If you can stand to leave it overnight, the flavors will blend nicely, but I usually end up eating it as soon as it’s cold. Eat with tortilla chips.

    If you don’t like it cold, warm it up and eat it with a spoon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

