First Trail Run

My first trail run, entitled the “Toe Stumpin’ Trail Run,” is held in Mannford, Oklahoma.

The race will be held in Keystone State Park in Mannford on new running and mountain biking trails developed by the Oklahoma Earthbike Fellowship. Both the five mile race and the two mile beginners race will begin at 9:00 a.m. The race begins in a parking area 1/2 mile south of Keystone Lake Dam on Hwy 151 between US 64 and State Hwy 51. There will be signs with directions to the parking area.

It’s supposed to start raining tonight and continue over the weekend. I’ll be wearing my “Nike Trail Runners.” They are the most comfortable running shoes I have ever owned but they are designed with breathing holes. I think I’ll double sock to help keep the mud away from my feet. I’ll also wear a trash bag as a raincoat. Five miles in the mud doesn’t sound like much fun to me, but I’m doing it anyway.

Me and Jane will be riding to Mannford together. It’s about a 23 mile drive. We can choose to drive the turnpike or the scenic country roads. It will be the turnpike if its raining, but right now the sun is shining and it doesn’t really look like rain. If the sun is shining we’ll take the scenic route.

I’m looking forward to the new experience and new distance–5 miles.

2 thoughts on “First Trail Run

Leave a Reply

