I’ve Been Scarce Lately

I’m entering an entirely new chapter in my life right now.

My job has ended and now I am unemployed.

I’ve been working at Oklahoma State University (OSU), Center for Aerospace and Hyperbaric Medicine for the past seven months. I collect data for a research project that is a double-blind study to see if pilots who sleep under oxygen deprivation situations are affected in their thought process, mental acuity, and alertness. Included in my duties, was to administer alertness testing, sleep studies, EEG’s (electroencephalogram), EMG (electromyogram), and EOG (electro-oculogram ), pulse-ox, and heart rate as well as watching for signs of ataxia and edema.

It’s an interesting position, I enjoyed my work, and I worked beside a lot of great people, but the scientific study is over now and I’m left without a job. I have no job leads and no real plans for the future. I think I’ll take some time off to regroup, spring clean, meditate, and go overboard with my training. You’ll also find me around wordpress a little more. I won’t be so scarce.

I’ve signed up for the Oklahoma FreeWheel–a bicycle ride from the Texas border to the Kansas border–about a 350-400 mile ride.

As far as the training calendar I made for January 2007 is concerned, I blew it. Mostly due to weather. February’s personal training schedule is also pretty much a disaster. But now that I have a lot of time on my hands, it’s time to devise a new plan.

One thought on “I’ve Been Scarce Lately

Leave a Reply

