What About My 2007 Calendar and Agenda?

What About My 2007 Training Calendar and Race Agenda?

At the beginning of the year I had high aspirations when I planned my running and fitness agenda and event calendar.

My training included such things as timed sprints, split runs, short local races such as the 5k, 5 mile, 8k, and 10k, cycling, Iron Yoga, hindu squats, and weightlifting. My training runs included running in my neighborhood, at the river, at the park, and running at the local high school track.

Mother Nature put a damper on my plans. Snow, sleet, and ice stroms tried to force me to stay indoors. We had snow all the way up to the month of April. We even had a freeze that probably ruined my 3 beautiful red crepe myrtles.

It started looking like spring around here with sunshine and a few days when temperatures reached the 60’s and 70’s. The crepe myrtles started getting leaves and little buds and then…

THE FREEZE ! !

The easter lilies, tiger lilies, and the cannas were poking through the ground in shades of green and then…

THE FREEZE ! !

Now my beautiful crepe myrtles look brown, dry, and dead and the lilies and cannas turned black and mushy.

Anyway, I didn’t mean to chase rabbits. Back to the issue at hand–Running.

Back in February I joined the YMCA. Since that time I’ve done very little road running. My great training plans turned to treadmill running with FitLinxx machines for cross-training.

In March the “Y” gave an incentive of a free T-shirt for anyone who worked out at least 12 times during the month. I was there 15 times during March even though I took a week off for spring break. I got my T-shirt.

The newest incentive is a quarterly competition during the months of April, May, and June for whoever gets the most fitlinxx points, burns the most calories, and lifts the most pounds. I guess they’ll probably give out t-shirts again.

I’ve gotten so wrapped up in my workouts at the “Y” that I’ve neglected my outdoor running. My last road race was the Wish Lemons 5K on March 31, 2007. The next one will be the Cinco de Mayo 5K on May 4th, 2007.

So you want to know what happened to my running agenda and training calendar?

They were put in the shredder!

Leave a Reply

