Training Run at the River

I’ve been working 10-12 hour shifts this week and when Saturday morning rolled around, I just didn’t want to get up. I had originally planned to run the 10K Zoo Run, but I just couldn’t push myself enough when I awakened at 6am. I felt thoroughly exhausted.

I woke up again at 7:30 am and thought to myself, “I can still make it to the zoo in time for the race!”

But… I fell asleep again.

When I finally got up at 8am, I figured I could still fit a training run into my schedule. Racing was out.

But… I had absolutely no energy!

I sat around all day and did nothing.

So I ran 8 miles at the river today to make up for doing nothing yesterday. It seemed quiet at the river. My husband says it’s because everyone went to the Tulsa County Fair today. It could be because of all the new construction and blocked trails. But then again, maybe it was quiet because there will be a large turnout at the “Our River Yes” walk and run this afternoon.

Well, whatever the reason, it still seemed strange that not very many people were on the trails this morning

The next race on my agenda is the 15K Tulsa Run on October 27, 2007. Then I’ll be running the Route 66 Half Marathon in November. I wanted to run my first full marathon this year, but that’s not going to happen. With all the hours I’ve been working, I haven’t been able to train properly.

Leave a Reply

