Senior Games Association Correction

It’s less than a year away until the National Senior Olympic Games to be held thirty miles south of San Francisco, California in a town called, Palo Alto.

In order to compete in the 2009 Summer National Games, athletes must meet the following requirements:

  • Born before December 31, 1958
  • Qualify at a State Senior Games Championship during 2008

State Senior Games will be held throughout 2008 in almost all 50 states, beginning with Arizona in February/March and ending with Florida in December.

For a list of all State Games please visit www.nsga.com

Previously I listed the Senior Games Association wrong when I said it’s nsga.org. I apologize if this caused any inconvenience. So bookmark the associations web address as www.nsga.com

The National Senior Games are scheduled for August 1 – August 15, 2009.

The official website for the 2009 events is 2009seniorgames.org

Oklahoma’s State Senior Games are just around the corner. The excitement begins the second week of September. I’ve already asked for the days off, but haven’t booked a hotel or motel room yet.

I’m signed up to compete in running, jumping, and weightlifting.

More specifically, I’ll be running the 5k road race, 50 meter track, and 200 meter track. I’ll be jumping in the long jump and the high jump. In the weightlifting competition, I’ve signed up for the bench press, arm curl, leg press, and push-ups.

I’ve been competing in the senior olympics since 2001. Since then, September has become my favorite month of the year and the senior olympics are my favorite sports games as well as my favorite socializing outing.

I encourage all seniors to get involved. It’s fun, it’s exciting, and you don’t have to be a great talent to compete at the local or state level.

Leave a Reply

