The Moment I Crossed the Finish Line

Cramping: The Moment I crossed the Finish Line

It was the 32nd annual Tulsa Run and I was running along at a decent pace for me until around the 10K point at which time, my legs began cramping. I slowed down and continued to trudge to the finish line. The moment I crossed the finish line, it was as if my entire body was in a cramp–the worst being in my left plantar fascia, upper left foot, upper left gastroc, left tensor fasciae latae muscle, and ITB pain. The pain was so excruciating that I couldn’t move once I crossed the finish line. I was also cramping between my shoulders, and the right inner quadricep–the vastus medialis.

I couldn’t move. A doctor and two other workers came over to assist me. After being frozen in one spot for 3-4 minutes, I was finally able to hobble to the message tent. It seemed as if I was in line forever. Finally, the OU physical therapy department attempted to help me with soft tissue work consisting of stretching and myofascial release. It didn’t work! I was cramping so bad that I was told I needed to go to the medical wagon, but they had already left the area. After filling me full of water and apple juice, they said I should probably go to the emergency room.

The physical therapy students advised me that I was probably dehydrated caused by over-perspiring. The only problem with that theory is that I didn’t really perspire during the race. In fact, my skin was drier than usual. However, after consuming a full bottle of water and the full bottle of apple juice, I did experience a little relief–still cramping but not as intense.

Got home and took a short nap. When I awakened, I experienced the same total body cramping with worst of it being in the legs.

Because of my medical background–LPN and CMA–I decided it must be an electrolye imbalance. I figured some salt and calcium would help.

Sent my husband to the store to buy some plain potato chips. Ate the potato chips and a Viactiv caramel calcium soft chew. That was about 4:00 pm. My body finally quit cramping and I haven’t had a cramp since that time. Needless to say, I didn’t go to the emergency room.

Thats great! But now I’m left with the ITB pain.

Ugh…

Leave a Reply

