Ran on Katy Trail – Photos

I wanted to run with Runner’s World Saturday morning.

The usual Saturday morning routine here at our abode is for my daughter to get home from work at around 6:30 am, give or take a few minutes. I had planned on asking her to run with me and we would join up with the Runner’s World training group.

I waited around for my daughter and I waited and waited. She finally arrived home around 8 am. (And didn’t call) It was too late to run with Runner’s World, but I asked her if she wanted to run with me at the river.

She was too tired. After all, she had worked all night and worked an extra hour and a half.

Okay…by that time I missed Runner’s World and my daughter wasn’t going to run with me. Hmm..what to do.

I decided to look up Katy Running Trail on MapMyRun and Run on the trail. After all, I had promised all you blog readers that I would include photos of various running trails in Tulsa over a year ago and so far, the only trail I’ve included is the Midland Valley Trail.

I took my pomeranian (Latte) with me, and parked at the river on Riverside near Southwest Blvd. Latte is nine years old and he’s been my running buddy since he was a pup. What a beautiful morning for a run. The weather was definitely favorable even though the sun was playing peek-a-boo.

We headed out toward Newblock Park and stopped to pose my pom to take a few photos. From Newblock Park, we headed north on Newblock Drive and veered to the left toward the west. I had actually wanted to head north on Union from Newblock Drive to get to Katy Trail.

Needless to say, we got lost. We headed north on Gilcrease Museum Road and continued to jog beyond the freeway. At first I didn’t realize that we had already passed the trail. I didn’t want to turn back, so we turned left on Cameron Street. I had hoped to cross back to the other side of the freeway on 33rd West Avenue. However, 33rd West Avenue doesn’t go through.

Unbelievably, we ended up hiking on the freeway from 33rd West Avenue until we reached 41st West Avenue. I know, I know, it’s dangerous. But at least it was a new experience. I’ve never walked on a freeway before. It went quickly and we finally arrived at Katy Trail.

Out of the 6 mile run/jog/hike, we were only on the West Katy Jogging Trail for 1 1/2 miles.

For the first mile on the trail, there wasn’t another person in sight. Finally, during the last half mile, I saw 6 cyclers, one walker, and no runners.

I like Katy trail. I’ll be going back there again to add some distance on the trail. It is nice and paved. It’s like a little bit of country within the city.

Even though we’re into the middle of November, there are still some leaves left on the trees and there’s a hint of the fall colors of yellow and gold. Not as colorful as usual though–no red or orange. The grass is still green–unusual for an Oklahoma November.

All-in-all, I enjoyed the morning with my pom. Even one of the cyclers commented as he passed by, “You look like you’re having fun.”

He was right.

Pomeranian Posing in front of Route 66 sign

On our way to Newblock Park

Newblock Park, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Pomeranian posing at Newblock Park

Walking on the freeway on our way to Katy Trail

Walking and Jogging on the freeway on our way to Katy Trail

On the freeway headed for Katy Trail

On the freeway headed for Katy Trail in Tulsa

To view my new running trails photo page click here.

Leave a Reply

