10.3 Miles on a Dark, Cold, Windy Day

Windy Day Runner Passed by a lady running in the opposite direction who spoke as we passed each other, “Kind of cold to be running today, isn’t it?”  Without stopping I answered back, “At least it’s not twenty degrees.” We both chuckled and continued in our own directions.

The actual temperature at that time was actually 41 degrees which isn’t really cold in comparison to what it had been during the past couple weeks. The thing that made it feel so cold is the fact that the wind was blowing and the air was moist.

It wasn’t so bad dealing with the elements running toward Swan Lake but by the time I was on my return trip it was getting dark and the cold wind was really getting noticeable.

While I run I try to always be aware of my form.  I say “try” because some times there are are things that distract my attentions such as the cold winds. As I continued to run, I bagan to feel a twinge of pain in my left knee.  Then I realized the cold wind had me all tensed up. My shoulders were up and my back was slightly hunched.

Here we go talking about posture again. I seem to talk about posture these days and there’s a good reason.  Good posture is part of good form.  I just spoke about posture a few days ago in the post entitled, Run at Swan Lake and Good Posture and in another post entitled, Self Talk While Running #3.

I did my best to stay in tune with my body, posture, and form for the rest of the run.  I managed to take a little stress off my knee.  But needless to say, I woke up the following day with a sore knee. I couldn’t find my heating pad and I’m out of Epson Salts so I did nothing for the sore knee.  Guess I’ll have to give a little rest.

#runsmart  #runningsmart #pbrunsmart #pbrunningsmart

One thought on “10.3 Miles on a Dark, Cold, Windy Day

  1. Just found your blog – it’s always fun to find new running blogs! I hope your knee pain goes away soon. I’ve had a little knee pain since doing my long run last week. I’m trying to be patient about taking a few days off even though I’d rather be running. : )

Leave a Reply

